Regions and Coordination

Overall operations of AMMSI are coordinated by the Programme Director, in the AMMSI Programme Office, currently located in Nairobi, Kenya.

Programme Director: Prof. Wandera Ogana, AMMSI Programme Office, School of Mathematics, University of Nairobi, Kenya. E-mail: OR OR

AMMSI is organized through six regions, identified below, each with a Regional Office run by a Regional Coordinator.

Central Africa:
Countries: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Sao Tome and Principe.
Regional Coordinator: Professor Basile G. R. Bossoto, Marien Ngouabi University, Faculty of Science, Department of Mathematics, Brazzaville, Congo. Email:

Eastern Africa:
Countries: Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, Somaliland, South Sudan, Uganda, Tanzania.
Regional Coordinator: Dr. Eunice Mureithi, University of Dar es Salaam, Department of Mathematics, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. Email:

Southern Africa:
Countries: Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
Regional Coordinator: Professor Edward Lungu, Department of Mathematics, University of Botswana, Gaborone, Botswana E-mail:

Western Africa (Zone 1):
Countries: Gambia, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone.
Regional Coordinator: Professor Samuel Ilori, Department of Mathematics, University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Nigeria. E-mail:

Western Africa (Zone 2):
Countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea Bissau, Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, Togo.
Regional Coordinator: Professor Hamidou Toure, LAME, University of Ouagadougou, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso. Email:

North Africa:
Countries: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia.
Regional Coordinator: Professor Nouzha El Yacoubi, University Mohammed V-Agdal, Faculty of Science, Department of Mathematics, Rabat, Morocco. Email:

The Programme Director and the Regional Coordinators form the Programme Committee whose function is to plan and implement activities of AMMSI. The Programme Director runs the AMMSI Programme Office and represents the Programme Committee in the Advisory Board. The current members of the Programme Committee are:

Prof. Wandera Ogana - Programme Director

Prof. Basile G. R. Bossoto - Regional Coordinator, Central Africa

Dr. Eunice Mureithi - Regional Coordinator, Eastern Africa

Prof. Nouzha El Yacoubi - Regional Coordinator, North Africa

Prof. Edward Lungu - Regional Coordinator, Southern Africa

Prof. Samuel Ilori - Regional Coordinator, Western Africa (Zone1)

Prof. Hamidou Toure - Regional Coordinator, Western Africa (Zone 2)